What Insurance Covers Zepbound in 2026? Aetna, Cigna, UnitedHealthcare, Blue Cross, Medicare and Medicaid
What insurance covers Zepbound in 2026? Plan-by-plan rules from Aetna, CVS Caremark, UnitedHealthcare, Cigna, Blue Cross, Kaiser, Medicare, Medicaid and TRICARE, plus prior authorization criteria and what to do if a plan says no.
What insurance covers Zepbound depends on your plan more than on the name on your insurance card. Your employer or plan sponsor decides whether the plan includes weight-loss drugs [2][16], and Lilly says most prescriptions for the single-dose pen need prior authorization [33].
This guide reads each insurer's own documents as of September 30, 2026. It covers coverage rules only; for the approved drug's safety data, see our page on Zepbound side effects.
The short version:
- Aetna excluded Zepbound on its standard formularies from July 1, 2025, and lists it as added back on four commercial formularies from October 1, 2026, for plans that cover weight-loss drugs. CVS Caremark made the same change on its template formularies.
- UnitedHealthcare and Cigna cover it for weight loss only on plans that chose that coverage.
- Medicare covers the Zepbound KwikPen for weight management through the $50 GLP-1 Bridge, for people who qualify.
- Sleep apnea can open a separate route, even on plans that exclude weight loss.
In this guide: insurer-by-insurer rules, Medicare, Medicaid, TRICARE and VA, and what prior authorization asks for.
Table of Contents
- What insurance covers Zepbound?
- Does Aetna cover Zepbound? Aetna, CVS Caremark and the October 1, 2026 change
- Does UnitedHealthcare cover Zepbound?
- Does Cigna cover Zepbound? Express Scripts and the $200 EncircleRx cap
- Does Blue Cross Blue Shield cover Zepbound? Anthem, FEP Blue and state plans
- Does Kaiser Permanente cover Zepbound?
- Will insurance cover Zepbound for sleep apnea?
- Does Medicare cover Zepbound? Part D rules for sleep apnea and weight loss
- Does Medicaid cover Zepbound?
- Does TRICARE or the VA cover Zepbound?
- Zepbound prior authorization: what insurers ask for and how to check your plan
- Build the diet and activity record insurers ask for
- Frequently asked questions
- Key takeaways
What Insurance Covers Zepbound?
No insurer covers Zepbound for every member. What insurance covers Zepbound comes down to the benefit design your employer or plan sponsor picks, as Cigna, UnitedHealthcare and CVS Caremark documents all note [4][6][16].
Cigna says weight-loss drugs "are specifically excluded under many benefit plans" [4]. Insurers review Zepbound's two approved uses: long-term weight reduction in adults with obesity, or overweight with a weight-related condition, and moderate to severe obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) in adults with obesity [1].
| Insurer or program | Weight-loss coverage | Sleep apnea route | Key condition | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aetna / CVS Caremark | Excluded from July 1, 2025 (still on July 2026 exclusion lists); added on four formularies from October 1, 2026 | OSA criteria in Aetna's 2025 policy | Plan must cover weight-loss drugs | [7][8][10][15][16] |
| UnitedHealthcare | Only plans that elected weight-loss coverage | Separate OSA-only program | BMI 30, or 27 plus a condition | [5][6] |
| Cigna / Evernorth | Many plans exclude; several client-specific policies | OSA criteria in policy IP0621 | BMI 32 in the variant we read | [4] |
| Blue Cross companies | Each company decides; FEP Blue covers with prior approval | None listed in Vermont | Two oral medicines first on FEP Blue | [19][20][21] |
| Kaiser Northwest | Only members whose plan covers weight-loss drugs | Yes, AHI 30 or more | Step therapy through semaglutide | [22] |
| Medicare Part D | Excluded by law | Yes, for moderate to severe OSA | Formulary exception process | [25][27] |
| Medicare GLP-1 Bridge | KwikPen only, $50 a month | Not eligible (goes to Part D) | BMI and condition criteria | [23][24] |
| Medicaid (California example) | Ended January 1, 2026 | Prior authorization request | States choose | [28][29] |
| TRICARE | Prime and Select only | Not stated | Prior authorization | [31] |
| VA | Yes, by criteria for use | Counts as a qualifying condition | Lifestyle program within the past year | [32] |
Employer coverage is uneven. In KFF's 2025 survey, 16% of firms with 200 to 999 workers covered GLP-1s for weight loss, compared with 30% of firms with 1,000 to 4,999 workers and 43% of firms with 5,000 or more [2]. Lilly says "approximately half" of Americans with employer insurance lack coverage for obesity medicines [3].
UnitedHealthcare's program also lists Wegovy and the Foundayo pill [5]; see orforglipron (Foundayo) price and our GLP-1 medications list.
Does Aetna Cover Zepbound? Aetna, CVS Caremark and the October 1, 2026 Change
Aetna lists Zepbound as added to its Aetna Standard Plan, Standard Control, Advanced Control and High Value formularies from October 1, 2026 [10][11][12][13]. Your plan still has to include weight-loss drug coverage: CVS Caremark's matching change is for plan sponsors "who elect to provide coverage" of these drugs [16]. Aetna also says formulary drugs "may still require a clinical prior authorization review" [14]. The Standard Opt-Out formulary letter does not list Zepbound.
The change reverses a 2025 exclusion. Aetna removed Zepbound from the Aetna Standard Plan formulary on July 1, 2025, naming Wegovy, Saxenda, Qsymia and orlistat as alternatives [7]. Its July 2026 exclusion lists, the latest posted on September 30, 2026, still showed Zepbound as not covered [8][9].
During the exclusion, those lists said excluded drugs "may be covered by the plan when preferred options are not clinically appropriate" [8]. Aetna's exception policy pointed prescribers to Wegovy first and brand Mounjaro second; it set no criteria for approving Zepbound itself [14]. Our Zepbound vs Wegovy and Zepbound vs Mounjaro pages explain how those drugs differ.
Aetna's pharmacy benefits run through CVS Caremark [8]. On May 28, 2026, CVS Caremark said it would add Zepbound back "as an additional preferred option October 1, 2026" on its most common commercial formularies [16]. These are template formularies: standard drug lists that a plan sponsor, usually your employer, can adopt or customize [16].
Aetna's most recent public Zepbound prior authorization policy we found is from 2025 [15]. It asked for:
- A weight program: at least 6 months of diet, activity and behavior support first.
- BMI: 30 or higher, or 27 or higher with at least one weight-related condition.
- Renewal: at least 3 months at a stable maintenance dose and at least 5% weight loss, or keeping that loss. Our tirzepatide dosage chart shows the label's maintenance doses.
We found no Aetna policy written for the October 2026 status, so check your plan's drug list first.
Does UnitedHealthcare Cover Zepbound?
UnitedHealthcare covers Zepbound for weight loss only on plans that elected weight-loss drug coverage. Its program, effective September 1, 2026, calls itself "an optional program" for clients that chose to cover these drugs with prior authorization [5].
On those plans, program 2026 P 1114-22 asks for [5]:
- Use as an add-on to lifestyle changes, such as diet, exercise or a behavioral program
- A BMI of 30 or higher, or 27 or higher with a weight-related condition such as dyslipidemia, high blood pressure, type 2 diabetes or sleep apnea
- Approval for 6 months, then 12-month renewals with at least 5% weight loss and continued lifestyle changes
State rules can change the terms: UnitedHealthcare says the program is also designed to meet coverage requirements in California, New Mexico and New York, and in North Dakota Essential Health Benefits plans [5]. For North Dakota fully insured small group and individual plans, the BMI threshold is 40 [5].
Plans that exclude weight-loss drugs can still use UnitedHealthcare's separate OSA-only program, described in the sleep apnea section below [6].
Does Cigna Cover Zepbound? Express Scripts and the $200 EncircleRx Cap
Cigna covers Zepbound for weight loss only when your plan's design allows it. Many Cigna plans exclude weight-loss drugs, and Cigna publishes several Zepbound policies for different plan designs [4]. The Cigna Group works through Cigna Healthcare and Evernorth Health Services [37], and Evernorth lists Express Scripts among its pharmacy benefit services [17].
The policy we read, IP0621 (effective April 30, 2026), sets these Zepbound criteria [4]:
- A BMI of 32 or higher, or 27 or higher with at least two weight-related conditions
- At least 3 months of behavioral change and diet before starting
- Approval for 8 months, then 1-year renewals with at least 5% weight loss
Cigna itself says these BMI thresholds "are not based on clinical data" and exist to let a subset of patients get the drugs [4]. A sister policy, IP0739, uses a BMI of 35 [38]. Your plan may follow either one, or neither.
Cost caps depend on your employer's choices. Evernorth says member costs for GLP-1 weight-loss drugs are "capped at no more than $200 per month" through its EncircleRx program, which plan sponsors choose [17][18]. Evernorth's February 2026 article also reports 2025 average monthly out-of-pocket costs of $89.26 for Zepbound and $83.50 for Wegovy, without saying which members were counted [18].
Does Blue Cross Blue Shield Cover Zepbound? Anthem, FEP Blue and State Plans
Blue Cross Blue Shield coverage of Zepbound varies because each Blue company is independent and sets its own drug rules [20]. Some Blue plans dropped weight-loss GLP-1s for 2026, while the federal employee plan covers Zepbound with prior approval [19][21].
- Vermont. From January 1, 2026, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Vermont no longer covers GLP-1s approved for weight loss, including Zepbound, Wegovy and Saxenda [19]. Other uses, apart from type 2 diabetes and Wegovy's heart-risk use, mean paying full cost, with no sleep apnea exception listed [19].
- North Dakota. Starting January 1, 2026 at plan anniversary, fully insured large group plans lose weight-loss drug coverage, and self-funded employers choose whether to keep it [20]. Small group and individual metallic plans keep coverage under state Essential Health Benefit rules [20].
- FEP Blue (federal employees). Policy 5.99.031 (effective January 1, 2026) asks for a BMI of 30, or 27 with heart disease or a weight-related condition, plus a weight management program [21]. You also need to have tried at least two oral weight-loss medicines and the preferred products, unless you have a valid medical exception [21]. Renewal requires at least 5% weight loss or keeping it [21].
For Anthem, another Blue company, we found no public commercial Zepbound policy; check the drug list in your member account.
Does Kaiser Permanente Cover Zepbound?
Kaiser Permanente Northwest covers Zepbound for weight loss only for members whose plan covers weight-loss drugs; others pay the member cash price [22]. Its criteria take effect November 5, 2026 and require a clinical review [22].
The Northwest criteria ask for [22]:
- A BMI of 30, or 27 with a listed condition
- A failed 3-month trial of at least two older options, such as phentermine, topiramate or naltrexone with bupropion
- Then at least 6 months of semaglutide, followed by a bariatric medicine chart review, unless you cannot take it
For sleep apnea, Kaiser Northwest requires severe OSA (an AHI of 30 or more) on a sleep study from the past 5 years, a BMI of 30 and the same step therapy [22]. We did not check other Kaiser regions. Kaiser's own advice is to contact Pharmacy Services in your home region [22].
Will Insurance Cover Zepbound for Sleep Apnea?
Many insurers review Zepbound for sleep apnea separately from weight loss, so a plan that excludes weight-loss drugs may still approve it for OSA. The FDA approved Zepbound for moderate to severe OSA in adults with obesity [1].
What published plans ask for:
- UnitedHealthcare OSA-only program. For plans that exclude weight loss: BMI 30, a sleep study with an AHI, REI or RDI over 15, one past diet attempt, and continued symptoms despite PAP use (or not a PAP candidate) [6]. You must not have diabetes, and a sleep medicine specialist, pulmonologist, ear, nose and throat doctor or physician experienced in OSA must prescribe or advise [6].
- Aetna. Its 2025 policy asked for an AHI of at least 15 and a current BMI of 30 [15].
- Cigna IP0621. BMI 30 at baseline and an AHI of at least 15; renewal after a year needs at least 10% weight loss [4].
- Medi-Cal and Medicare. California takes prior authorization requests for OSA, and Medicare Part D plans can cover it [25][29].
Expect to send a sleep study report with the AHI and your BMI. Not every plan has this route: Vermont's Blue plan lists no sleep apnea exception [19].
Does Medicare Cover Zepbound? Part D Rules for Sleep Apnea and Weight Loss
Medicare Part D cannot cover Zepbound for weight loss, but it can cover Zepbound for moderate to severe obstructive sleep apnea [25][27]. For weight management, Medicare covers the Zepbound KwikPen through the separate Medicare GLP-1 Bridge at $50 a month [23][24].
Federal law excludes Part D drugs "when used for anorexia, weight loss, or weight gain" [27][28]. CMS lists Zepbound for OSA as eligible for Part D, handled through each plan's usual formulary exception process [25].
The Bridge started July 1, 2026 and now runs through December 31, 2027, after CMS extended it on April 21, 2026 and delayed the Part D portion of its BALANCE model [23][26]. It covers only the Zepbound KwikPen, not single-dose pens or vials [23]. The $50 copay skips the Part D deductible [24]. Medicare's eligibility rules include [23]:
- A BMI of 35 or higher, or 30 or 27 with specific listed conditions
- A provider who certifies that you use the drug as part of a diet and exercise program
- No diagnosis of type 2 diabetes, moderate to severe sleep apnea or fatty liver disease (your Part D plan might cover the drug instead)
The Bridge works with stand-alone drug plans and Medicare Advantage plans with drug coverage, including HMO and PPO plans [23]. Our Zepbound coupon guide walks through the Bridge steps, and the Zepbound KwikPen guide explains the device. Medicare's help line is 1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227) [24].

Does Medicaid Cover Zepbound?
Medicaid coverage of Zepbound depends on your state. For Medicaid members, what insurance covers Zepbound is a state decision, because federal law lets state Medicaid programs exclude drugs "when used for" weight loss [28].
California shows how this works. Medi-Cal Rx stopped covering Zepbound for weight loss only on January 1, 2026, and earlier approvals ended December 31, 2025 [29]. If you take Zepbound for sleep apnea, your prescriber or pharmacy can still submit a prior authorization request [29]. Medi-Cal members generally have 90 days from a denial notice to ask for a State Hearing [29].
A federal model may add coverage in some states. Under CMS's BALANCE model, state Medicaid agencies can join from May 2026 through January 1, 2027, but CMS says the model "will not guarantee coverage for any individual" [30]. We found no CMS list of participating states as of September 30, 2026. Check your state's program through Medicaid.gov state overviews [36].
Does TRICARE or the VA Cover Zepbound?
TRICARE covers Zepbound for weight loss only for TRICARE Prime and TRICARE Select beneficiaries with an approved prior authorization [31]. As of August 31, 2025, other TRICARE beneficiaries lost weight-loss drug coverage [31]. The prescription must come from a TRICARE-authorized provider and be filled at a network pharmacy [31].
The VA has its own criteria for using Zepbound in weight management (April 2026) [32]. They ask for:
- Documented participation in a lifestyle program covering diet, activity and behavior, at least once in the past year (the MOVE! program is one example)
- A BMI of 27 or higher with at least one weight-related condition
Zepbound Prior Authorization: What Insurers Ask For and How to Check Your Plan
Zepbound prior authorization is approval your prescriber requests from the plan before it pays [34]. Lilly says most prescriptions for the single-dose pen need a prior authorization form [33].
| Plan document | BMI rule for weight loss | Lifestyle rule | Step therapy | Renewal |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| UnitedHealthcare 2026 P 1114-22 | 30, or 27 plus 1 condition | Add-on to lifestyle changes | None stated | 5% loss |
| Aetna 6947-C (2025) | 30, or 27 plus 1 condition | 6-month program first | None in this policy | 3 months at maintenance dose and 5% loss |
| Cigna IP0621 | 32, or 27 plus 2 conditions | 3-month diet and behavior trial | None stated for Zepbound | 5% loss |
| FEP Blue 5.99.031 | 30, or 27 plus a condition | Weight management program | 2 oral medicines, then preferred product | 5% loss or maintained |
| Kaiser Northwest (November 5, 2026) | 30, or 27 plus 1 condition | Lifestyle change | 2 older medicines, then 6 months of semaglutide | See document |
| VA (April 2026) | 27 plus 1 condition | Program within the past year | See VA document | Not stated |
| Medicare GLP-1 Bridge | 35; 30 or 27 plus a listed condition | Provider certifies a program | None | Valid through December 31, 2027 |
Sources: plan documents [4][5][15][21][22][23][32].
Renewal rules measure weight loss from your starting weight. For how much weight people in the trials had lost by weeks 8, 12, and 24, see how long it takes Zepbound to start working.
Lilly says the form asks about your weight and BMI, diet or exercise programs in the past 6 months, counseling, past weight-loss medicines, and conditions such as sleep apnea [33].
To check what insurance covers Zepbound on your own plan:
- Read your formulary (drug list) and exclusion list. Look for Zepbound and any prior authorization note.
- Check your benefit booklet. Look for a weight-loss drug exclusion.
- Ask about the sleep apnea route if you have diagnosed OSA.
- Use Lilly's coverage checker. Lilly says the result is "not a guarantee of coverage" [33].
If the plan says no, you can appeal. Lilly notes it "may require multiple appeal submissions" [33]. Our Zepbound coupon guide covers appeal deadlines and savings cards.

Build the Diet and Activity Record Insurers Ask For
Most Zepbound coverage policies we read ask for proof of diet, activity or behavior efforts. Aetna's 2025 policy wanted 6 months, Cigna IP0621 wants 3 months, and UnitedHealthcare renewals require continued lifestyle changes [4][5][15]. In KFF's survey, 34% of firms covering these drugs required a dietitian, case manager, therapist or lifestyle program [2].
A simple habit helps (general advice, not a plan rule): keep a weekly log of meals, activity and weight for appointments. The VA and the Medicare Bridge also ask for a lifestyle program [23][32].
Food choices matter too. A 2025 joint nutrition advisory notes that 1.2 to 1.6 grams of protein per kilogram of body weight per day have been proposed during active weight loss, though the right body weight to use is unsettled [35]. It also advises strength training and eating protein foods first [35]. See how much protein on GLP-1, our GLP-1 meal plan and the GLP-1 workout at home.
If you want high-protein recipes and meal ideas sized for a smaller appetite, see our guide.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Aetna cover Zepbound in 2026?
From October 1, 2026, Aetna lists Zepbound as added to four commercial formularies, for plans that cover weight-loss drugs. It had been excluded on its standard formularies since July 1, 2025.
Will CVS Caremark cover Zepbound again?
CVS Caremark said it would add Zepbound back to its most common commercial template formularies on October 1, 2026. Plan sponsors can still customize coverage.
Does UnitedHealthcare cover Zepbound for weight loss?
Only on plans that chose weight-loss drug coverage, with prior authorization. Other plans can still review Zepbound for sleep apnea.
Does Blue Cross Blue Shield cover Zepbound?
It depends on the Blue company and plan. Vermont's Blue plan excluded weight-loss GLP-1s from 2026, while FEP Blue covers Zepbound with prior approval.
Does Medicare cover Zepbound for sleep apnea?
Part D plans can cover Zepbound for moderate to severe sleep apnea in adults with obesity. People with sleep apnea cannot use the $50 GLP-1 Bridge.
Does Medicaid cover Zepbound?
It depends on your state. California's Medi-Cal stopped covering Zepbound for weight loss only on January 1, 2026, but takes prior authorization requests for sleep apnea.
Does TRICARE cover Zepbound?
Yes, for TRICARE Prime and TRICARE Select beneficiaries with an approved prior authorization. Others lost weight-loss drug coverage on August 31, 2025.
What BMI do insurers require for Zepbound?
Most plan documents we read use a BMI of 30, or 27 with a weight-related condition. Some set 32, 35 or 40.
What if my insurance does not cover Zepbound?
Ask your prescriber about an appeal or a sleep apnea review, and look at Lilly's savings programs in our Zepbound coupon guide. These plan rules cover FDA-approved Zepbound, not compounded tirzepatide.
Key Takeaways
- Your plan decides. What insurance covers Zepbound depends on your employer's or plan sponsor's choices.
- Aetna changes on October 1, 2026. Four Aetna formularies list Zepbound as added back, for plans that cover weight-loss drugs.
- Sleep apnea is a separate route. UnitedHealthcare, Cigna and Aetna publish OSA criteria, and Medicare Part D can cover OSA use.
- Medicare covers the KwikPen for $50 for people who qualify for the GLP-1 Bridge, which runs through December 31, 2027.
- Prior authorization is the norm. Expect BMI, lifestyle and renewal rules.
This article is for education only and is not medical or insurance advice, and it gives no personalized dosing advice. Ask your prescriber and your plan what insurance covers Zepbound in your case. Read our full medical disclaimer.
References
- Zepbound (tirzepatide) Prescribing Information, revised 08/2026: Eli Lilly
- Employer Health Benefits 2025 Annual Survey, Summary of Findings: KFF
- Foundayo (orforglipron), Lilly's new oral GLP-1 pill for weight loss, now available in the U.S., April 9, 2026: Eli Lilly news release
- Drug Coverage Policy IP0621, Weight Loss, Glucagon-Like Peptide-1 Agonists (Benefit Exclusion Overrides), effective 04/30/2026: Cigna
- Prior Authorization/Notification: Plans with Weight Loss/Appetite Suppression Medication Coverage, Program Number 2026 P 1114-22, effective 9/1/2026: UnitedHealthcare
- Prior Authorization/Non-Formulary: Zepbound (tirzepatide), Obstructive Sleep Apnea Only, Program Number 2026 P 1475-3, effective 9/1/2026: UnitedHealthcare
- Upcoming changes to your plan's drug coverage, Aetna Standard Plan, April 30, 2025: Aetna
- 2026 Formulary Exclusions Drug List, Standard Control Plan, July 2026: Aetna
- 2026 Formulary Exclusions Drug List, Advanced Control Plan, July 2026: Aetna
- Formulary Updates for the Aetna Standard Plan, effective October 1, 2026: Aetna
- Formulary Updates for the Standard Control Formulary, effective October 1, 2026: Aetna
- Formulary Updates for the Advanced Control Formulary, effective October 1, 2026: Aetna
- Formulary Updates for the High Value Formulary, effective October 1, 2026: Aetna
- Zepbound Exception, Pharmacy Clinical Policy Bulletin 6981-A, July 1, 2025: Aetna
- Zepbound PA with Limit, Pharmacy Clinical Policy Bulletin 6947-C, 2025: Aetna
- CVS Caremark delivers affordability and access to GLP-1 weight management medications with expanded coverage options, May 28, 2026: CVS Health
- Evernorth EncircleRx: Evernorth
- Keeping medication costs manageable in a year of economic pressures, February 12, 2026: Evernorth
- Frequently Asked Questions: 2026 Coverage Changes for GLP-1 Drugs FDA-Approved for Weight Loss: Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Vermont
- BCBSND Shares Coverage Changes to Weight-Loss Drugs for 2026, August 7, 2025: Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota
- Pharmacy Policy 5.99.031, Zepbound (tirzepatide), effective January 1, 2026: Blue Cross Blue Shield Federal Employee Program
- Criteria for Coverage: tirzepatide (Zepbound), effective 11/05/2026: Kaiser Permanente Northwest
- Weight loss drugs coverage: Medicare.gov
- Medicare GLP-1 Bridge, page last modified 07/13/2026: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
- Medicare GLP-1 Bridge: Information for Part D Plans, page last modified 08/06/2026: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
- Status Update on the BRIDGE Demo and BALANCE Model in Part D for CY2027, April 21, 2026: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
- 42 CFR 423.100, definition of Part D drug: eCFR
- 42 U.S.C. 1396r-8(d)(2), limitations on coverage of drugs: Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School
- Changes to GLP-1 Drug Coverage, Effective January 1, 2026: Medi-Cal Rx, California Department of Health Care Services
- BALANCE Model, page last modified 09/29/2026: CMS Innovation Center
- Are GLP-1 and weight loss medications covered through the TRICARE pharmacy benefit?: Express Scripts TRICARE Pharmacy Program
- Tirzepatide (Zepbound) for Weight Management, Criteria for Use, April 2026: VA Pharmacy Benefits Management Services
- Zepbound Access and Coverage, CMAT-26401 07/2026: Eli Lilly
- Prior authorization, glossary: HealthCare.gov
- Nutritional priorities to support GLP-1 therapy for obesity: joint advisory from ACLM, ASN, OMA, and TOS, 2025
- State overviews: Medicaid.gov
- About Us: The Cigna Group
- Drug Coverage Policy IP0739 (BMI 35), effective 04/30/2026: Cigna